Guest Post: 12 Things My Daughter Taught Me

Today’s guest post is by Mrs. Cassie Phillips.

I have only been a mother for 7 short months. They fly by so fast and before you know it your 8-pound new born is 16 pounds, eating solids, drinking from a sippy cup, sitting on her own, and being a diva!! It is amazing that my husband and I made this beautiful little girl, and although we knew our lives would change, I never thought I could learn so much from such a little girl!! I came up with a list of 12 things I have learned so far…

  1. You will never be on time again. When I was 16 my mom had my youngest brothers and I always made fun of her because she was always late, for everything. She told me “one day when you have kids you will see.” I always hated being late so, when Kenna came along I vowed never to be late and to always be prepared. If I knew we were going somewhere I would have her bag packed the night before. Then came the first time we were to be somewhere. The night before her bag was packed and ready to go. I just had to put her in her seat, grab the bag and go. Good plan right? Well have you ever heard the saying “if you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans”? Well this works for babies too, only they don’t laugh. They decide to spit up, then you change them, then they decide to poop, and fight getting in the car seat and whatever else. Before you know it you are an hour late!! I have learned to just pack up her bag right before we leave, then she doesn’t feel the need to poop before leaving!
  2. Forget a schedule. I am meaning for you. I have my daughter on a feeding schedule, every 3 hours, and we alternate bottle and food. We get up and go to bed the same time every night, but I dare you to set a time to eat, she will be fussy.
    Even as I try to write this she fusses off and on. I have to stop every few minutes and comfort her, but that’s okay, it’s worth it.
  3. You will learn how to do things one-handed. This goes along with the previous post about her being fussy when you want to do something. You still have to eat and get stuff done, so you will learn how to do things with one hand. Cook, clean, eat, you name it. You will also use a foot to bounce a bouncer or swing a swing when the batteries die.
  4. Laundry will never be done. It never fails, I think, “Today’s the day I am going to get all the laundry done.” Yeah right!! I will have one more load to do and Kenna will spit up either on me or on her, or my husband will “find” more clothes that need washed.
  5. You will smell your babies butt. I know it sounds gross, but if you are a mother you know what I am talking about, if you are not then I will explain. No one wants to change a babies diaper just to find out that there is nothing in it, so if you think the baby has pooped, you smell her bottom to scope things out. There is also the peek method where you peek in the side of the diaper to see if there is anything in there. I personally smell first because I do not want to have to pull down her pants to peek, after the smell, then I peek to make sure it wasn’t just gas.
  6. You will never sleep good again. Yeah, everyone who has or is about to have a baby knows they are up through the night so you don’t sleep much for at least the first few weeks or so, but I mean even after they start sleeping through the night. Kenna has been sleeping through the night for a while now and I still hear every noise she makes all night long.
  7. You never really forget. I was so sick throughout my pregnancy and everyone told me I would forget the second she was here and I held her in my arms. They also said I would forget the pain. This is so not true!! I still remember vividly the vomiting, the nausea, the heartburn, and so on.
    The pain of labor I forgot for the most part, I remember that it hurt bad enough for me to ask for the epidural, but I think I forgot that because once she was born I felt the entire repair. Every. Single. Stitch!! Let me tell you, that hurt like a you-know-what (but this is a story for another time). Even with that though, you will still want more, at least I do.
  8. Intimacy will happen again. I mean there is only one way you can provide a sibling for the first one!! HAHA. But seriously, it will happen again, when you are both ready (he will be ready waaaaaay before you are).
  9. You will act silly, make funny noise, etc. Before you are a mother, or a parent for that matter, you look at the moms and dads making funny faces and noises and such and you think “they are crazy.” And then you have a baby and instantly, it happens, almost everything out of your mouth is baby talk, from the start, you can’t control it.
  10. Your whole world will change. Everything, from how you view the world, to what you do, how you plan things, and so on. You will make adjustments. Someone will ask to go out to eat and you will say it can’t be this time because she eats, this is when she gets a bath, this is when she goes to bed, any other time is fine. You will want to avoid watching the news because it will depress you even more (at least I did). You will want to wrap your baby in a bubble and never let her out.
  11. No job will ever measure up. You may think you have the perfect job before you become a parent, but nothing is as good as being a mother or father. It is the only job that you can be peed on, pooped on, and yelled at and still want more, it is all worth it when that baby poops all over the place, then laughs so hard when you pick up her feet to clean her off. Or when she wakes up at 5 AM and you are exhausted and not ready to get up and you walk in the room and she gives you the biggest grin.
  12. Bonus: Love at first sight exists. Many people do not believe in love at first sight, but after having my baby I do. I loved her before she was born, but the instant she was born my whole body ached with love for her. I never thought I could possibly love someone as much as I love her, and when I have another child I am not sure how I could possibly love them both this much, but I am sure I will!

There you have it, 12 things my daughter has taught me so far. I am sure there are many more things to learn in the many years I have left with her.

Displaying 10363878_10152412304842373_2034843518479390921_n.jpeg

Mrs. Cassie Phillips is a first time mom of a beautiful baby girl. She recently also had the opportunity to become a stay at home mom. She is just trying to survive in the mom-eat-mom world and wants to help other moms along the way. She loves to cook, bake, crochet, craft, design, read, blog, and be a wonderful wife and mother.

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: 12 Things My Daughter Taught Me

  1. Pingback: ‘Being Mumma!’ nominated for the ‘Liebster Award’! | Being Mumma!

  2. Pingback: Guest post Today - My Real Life Moments

  3. Pingback: Guest post today | My Real Life Moments

Comments, please!

